Delhi Election Result / What was the biggest and lowest margin of victory in Delhi Assembly polls?

India Today : Feb 12, 2020, 09:33 AM
Aam Adami Party has emerged victorious in Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020. This is third consecutive Assembly polls in Delhi won by Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP.

Aam Adami Party has won 62 seats, while BJP has been limited to eight, which is an improvement from its last year's tally of three. AAP had won 67 seats in the 2015 polls.

The largest margin of victory in Delhi Assembly Elections was registered in Burari where Aam Adami Party Sanjeev Jha candidate won the seat by securing 1,39,598 votes - a difference of over 88,000 votes from closet second Janata Dal (United) candidate Shailendra Kumar's 51,440 votes.

The smallest margin victory was also secured by an AAP candidate. Bhupinder Singh Joon retained the seat for his party with 57,271 votes, defeating a close second Sat Prakash Rana who fought on a BJP ticket and secured 56,518 votes a difference of just 753 votes. The seat, which neighbours BJP-ruled Haryana, witnessed a neck-and-neck contest between AAP and the saffron party for 26 rounds before the incumbent party emerged victorious. In 2015, AAP's Col Devinder Sehrawat had won the seat with a margin of over 19,000 votes.

The victory with second-largest vote margin went sitting Okhla MLA Amantullah Khan. He stormed back to power in contentious Okhla, which includes the epicentre of anti-CAA protest Shaheen Bagh, with a margin of 71,827 votes.

Second-lowest gap margin was registered in Laxmi Nagar by BJP's Abhay Verma.