Wrestlers Protest / Kapil Dev came in support of wrestlers, many big former cricketers including Gavaskar appealed not to take decision in haste

Zoom News : Jun 02, 2023, 05:46 PM
Wrestlers Protest: Wrestlers who have opened a front against Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) chief Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh have also got the support of many big former cricketers. 1983 World Cup winning team players Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Diliev Vengsarkar, Madanlal etc. have described the incident with the wrestlers as tragic. He said that it is expected that the demand of the wrestlers will be heard. These players have appealed to the wrestlers not to take decisions in haste. Along with this, he also said that the hard-earned medals should not be thrown in the Ganges.

1983 Cricket World Cup winning team issued statement

The 1983 Cricket World Cup winning team issued a statement on the wrestlers' protest - "We are distressed and disturbed by the indecent scenes of manhandling of our champion wrestlers. We are also most concerned about the fact that they are throwing their hard-earned money into the river Ganga." are thinking of excuses. Those medals include years of effort, sacrifice, determination and grit and are not only their own but the country's pride and joy. We urge them not to take any hasty decision in this matter And also hope that their grievances will be heard and resolved quickly. Let the law of the land prevail."

Wrestler went to Haridwar on the pretext of medal in Ganga

Vinesh Phogat, Sakshi Malik and Bajrang Punia went to Haridwar on May 30 to demand the arrest of Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, the current President of the Wrestling Federation of India, on charges of alleged sexual harassment, but did not immerse the medals in the Ganges. On May 28, the Delhi Police detained protesting wrestlers on charges of disturbing law and order when they were marching towards the new Parliament without permission.

Let us tell you that Sunil Gavaskar, Mohinder Amarnath, K Srikkanth, Syed Kirmani, Yashpal Sharma, Madan Lal, Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Sandeep Patil, Kirti Azad, Roger Binny and Ravi Shastri were also in the team that won the World Cup 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. .