MCD Election Results 2022 / MCD election results today, Here is how you can track counting

Zoom News : Dec 07, 2022, 12:39 AM
MCD Election Results 2022 : Voting for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi was held on Sunday (December 4). During this, 50.48 percent voting was done. Now the results will be released today i.e. on 7th December. The counting of MCD elections will start from 8 am. This time the issue of corruption, cleanliness, garbage mountain is being overshadowed in the MCD elections. The Aam Aadmi Party had fiercely raised these issues in the election campaign. Know the big things related to the counting of MCD elections.

The elections are important for AAP and its leader Arvind Kejriwal as he wants to expand the party ahead of the 2024 general elections in the country. BJP had fielded its top leaders for campaigning for the MCD elections. In these, the national president of the party J. P. Nadda and 19 Union Ministers like Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari and Piyush Goyal and Chief Ministers of six states. The BJP had to face defeat at the hands of AAP in the 2020 Delhi Assembly elections and won only eight out of 70 seats.

Cleanliness, maintenance of parks and lack of parking facilities were the main issues of concern for women who voted in the MCD elections. Delhi had 272 wards from 2012-2022 and three corporations - North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) and East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC). The MCD formally came into existence on 22 May after the three municipal corporations were re-integrated.

The MCD, established in the year 1958, was divided into three parts in 2012 during the tenure of the then Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit. In the municipal elections held in the year 2017, BJP had won 181 out of 270 wards. There was about 53 percent voting in the elections held that year. Voting could not be held in two seats due to the death of the candidates. AAP had won in 48 and Congress in 27 wards.

1. A total of 42 counting centers have been set up all over Delhi for counting by the State Election Commission. These centers have been set up in Shastri Park, Yamuna Vihar, Mayur Vihar, Nand Nagri, Dwarka, Okhla, Mangolpuri, Pitampura, Alipore and Model Town.

2. Tight security arrangements have been made at all the centers and 20 companies of Central Armed Police Forces, more than 10,000 police personnel have been deployed at the centres.

3. Exit polls of MCD elections were also released on Monday. In most of these, AAP has been declared as the biggest party. Aaj Tak-Axis My India has given 149-171 seats to AAP, 69-91 seats to BJP and 3-7 seats to Congress. Times Now-ETG exit poll predicts 146-156 seats for AAP, 84-94 for BJP and 6-10 for Congress.