Lok Sabha Election / BJP's first list of 15 candidates from Rajasthan - Rahul Kaswan's card cut

Zoom News : Mar 02, 2024, 07:48 PM
Lok Sabha Election: BJP has released the first list of candidates for 15 seats in Rajasthan for the Lok Sabha elections. Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will contest elections from Kota. These names were approved in the meeting of the Central Election Committee on 29 February. BJP has canceled tickets of 5 MPs. Two leaders from Congress have also been fielded in the elections.

Tickets to two leaders from Congress

BJP has given tickets to two leaders from Congress. Dr. Jyoti Mirdha has been given ticket from Nagair and Mahendra Jeet Malviya from Dungarpur-Banswara. Jyoti Mirdha had joined BJP before the assembly elections. At the same time, Malviya resigned from the post of MLA a few days ago and joined BJP from Congress.

Tickets of 5 MPs canceled

BJP has canceled the tickets of 5 MPs. Banswara (ST) ticket has been given to Mahendra Jeet Singh Malviya in place of Kankamal Katara.

Ram Swaroop Koli has been given ticket in place of Ranjita Koli from Bharatpur (SC). Rahul Kaswan's ticket has been canceled from Churu and ticket has been given to Para Olympian Devendra Jhajharia. Lumbaram Chaudhary has been made the candidate from Jalore-Sirohi in place of Devji Patel. Mannalal Rawat has been declared candidate in place of Arjunlal Meena from Udaipur (ST) reserve seat.

Candidates are yet to be announced on these seats

Candidates are yet to be announced for 10 seats in Rajasthan. This includes Jaipur, Jaipur Rural, Bhilwara, Sriganganagar, Jhunjhunu, Dausa, Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Karauli-Dholpur, Rajsamand, Ajmer seats.

Faces changed on these seats

Alwar: Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav has been fielded in the elections. Balaknath was the MP from here. He has now become an MLA.

Nagaur: This time BJP has fielded its candidate. In the last elections, BJP had formed an alliance with Hanuman Beniwal's party Rashtriya Loktantrik Party on this seat.

Modi's trusted faces, got ticket for fourth-third time also

Among the 15 declared seats, there are many faces who have been given tickets for the fourth time. Among these, the names of Dushyant Singh from Baran-Jhalawar seat and Arjunram Meghwal from Bikaner are first. Apart from these, prominent names among those who got ticket for the third time are Gajendra Singh Shekhawat from Jodhpur, Lok Sabha Speaker and Kota MP Om Birla, PP Chaudhary, BJP State President CP Joshi.

There was brainstorming on names till late night on Thursday

Earlier, a meeting of the Central Election Committee was held at the BJP headquarters in Delhi on Thursday (29 February). This meeting, which started in the evening, continued till around 3.15 pm. Apart from Prime Minister Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, CMs of BJP ruled states were also present in this meeting. In the meeting, Lok Sabha candidates from the states were discussed one by one.

BJP won all the seats in two Lok Sabha elections.

In the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP had won all 25 seats in Rajasthan. In 2019, BJP had left Nagaur seat for Hanuman Beniwal's party RLP as part of the alliance, Hanuman Beniwal had won there also.

Entry into politics of Jhajharia

Javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia, awarded with Padma Bhushan, has entered politics. Bharatiya Janata Party has given him ticket from Churu. The party announced this on Saturday. BJP has released its first list of candidates in which Jhajharia, honored by President Ramnath Kovind, has been given a big responsibility.

Devendra Jhajharia, two-time Paralympic gold winner on February 28, filed nomination papers on Wednesday for the post of President of the Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) in the elections to be held on March 9. Apart from him, no one has applied for this post. In such a situation, Jhajharia's election is certain to be unopposed. Presently Deepa Malik is its chairman.

First para athlete to receive Padma Bhushan award

Devendra is the first para athlete of the country to receive the Padma Bhushan award. Jhajharia has won medals for the country in three Olympics. It is because of his brilliant performance that he has been awarded the Padma Bhushan. Jhajharia is the first player from Rajasthan to be given this award. He won the silver medal in the Tokyo Paralympics last year. Earlier, Devendra had won gold medals for the country in the Para Olympic Games in Athens 2004 and Rio 2016.

He won the gold medal in Athens Para Olympics 2004. Javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia of Churu, who won the first Para Olympic gold medal for India in any single event, has received various awards and accolades after winning gold medals in the Para Olympic Games in 2004 and 2016.

Devendra was given the highest Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award in the sports world for his sports achievements by the Government of India. Before this, he has received many awards including Padmashree Award, Special Sports Award 2004, Arjun Award 2005, Rajasthan Khel Ratna, Maharana Pratap Award 2005, Mewar Foundation's prestigious Aravali Samman 2009. He has been a member of various committees related to sports.

Was born in an ordinary family

Devendra was born on 10 June 1981 in the courtyard of an ordinary farmer couple Ram Singh and Jeevani Devi of Sadulpur, Churu. Devendra never allowed the disadvantaged environment and adverse circumstances to become obstacles in his path. Like Eklavya in village Johad, Devendra, dedicated to his goal, made a wooden spear and started practicing on his own.

Started javelin throwing from school

In 1995, he started javelin throwing in school competitions. After winning medals in Javelin Throw and Shot Put in the National Games in Bangalore while studying in college, Devendra never looked back. Winning the gold medal in Javelin Throw at the national level in 1999 despite tough competition in the general category was a big achievement for Devendra. In this way a series of achievements started but in reality Devendra's Olympic dream started.

Made world record

Devendra won the gold medal in the 2002 Busan Asiad. In the 2003 British Open Games, Devendra won gold medals in all three events of Javelin Throw, Shot Put and Triple Jump. Devendra's name was written in golden letters in the sports history of the country when he won the gold medal in the javelin throw event at the 2004 Athens Para Olympics.

In these games, Devendra made a mark by throwing the javelin to a distance of 62.15 meters. The world record was broken by Devendra himself by throwing 63.97 meter javelin in Rio. Later Devendra won the gold medal in Malaysia Para Asian Games in 2006. Won the gold medal in the Para World Games held in Taiwan in 2007 and won the gold medal for the country in the Athletics Championship held in Lyon (France) in the year 2013.