Himachal Pradesh Election Result 2022 / Congress gets majority in Himachal, party wins 40 seats

Zoom News : Dec 08, 2022, 12:08 PM
Himachal Pradesh Election Result 2022 : In the Himachal Pradesh assembly elections, once again the public has changed the rule by maintaining the custom. Means, like every election, this time also the power has changed. The counting of votes has ended for 68 seats in the state. In the final results, Congress has crossed the figure of 35 seats required for majority. Congress has won 40 seats.

Whereas, BJP was reduced to 25 seats. It lost 19 seats as compared to 2017. Independents have won 3 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party, which defeated the BJP in the MCD elections, could not even open its account in Pahar. Chief Minister Jairam Thakur resigned after the results. Here, Congress has called a meeting of elected legislators in Shimla on Friday to form a new government.

8 ministers of BJP lost the elections

Himachal has a record of losing 45 to 75% ministers in every election. This time also 8 out of 10 ministers of Jairam Thakur cabinet lost the election. The ministers who lost the election include Suresh Bhardwaj, Ramlal Markanda, Virendra Kanwar, Govind Singh Thakur, Rakesh Pathania, Dr. Rajiv Saizal, Sarveen Chowdhary, Rajendra Garg. Apart from Jairam Thakur, only Bikram Thakur and Sukhram Chowdhary could win the election.

Record of defeat of almost half the ministers in the last 4 elections

If you look at the record of the last four elections, almost half or more of the ministers have lost the elections every time. In the 2017 elections, 5 out of 11 ministers of the Congress CM Virbhadra Singh cabinet lost the elections. In 2012, 4 out of 10 ministers of CM Prem Kumar Dhumal lost the elections in the BJP government. In 2007, Virbhadra Singh held assembly elections a year early, but 6 out of 10 ministers in his cabinet lost their seats. Similarly, in 2003, 6 out of 11 ministers in BJP's CM Prem Kumar Dhumal's cabinet could not win.

Churning started in Congress regarding Chief Minister

According to sources, after the victory in Himachal, churning has started in the Congress regarding the CM face. A meeting of the newly elected Congress MLAs has been held in Shimla on Friday regarding the formation of the new government. It will also include Himachal in-charge Rajeev Shukla and Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel and former Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda. The names of Himachal Pradesh Congress President Pratibha Singh and former state president Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu are being considered for the post of Chief Minister. Pratibha Singh is the wife of former Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and is also a Member of Parliament from Mandi Lok Sabha seat.

CM Thakur won record 7th time

From Seraj seat, CM Jairam Thakur defeated Chetram Thakur of Congress by a record margin of more than 20,000 votes. They have won for a record 7th time. Rakesh Jamwal of BJP defeated Sohan Lal Thakur of INC by 8 thousand 125 votes in Sundernagar seat of Mandi district.

What did PM and Kharge say about Himachal result...

Congress is going to form the government in Himachal. Prime Minister Narendra Modi said on the defeat of the party – thanks to the people of Himachal Pradesh for their love and support to the BJP. We will keep working to fulfill the aspirations of the state, will raise the issues of the people. On the other hand, Congress General Secretary Priyanka Vadra said – This is the victory of the issues of the people of Himachal. Thanks to the people for the mandate.

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge said – I thank the voters for winning Himachal Pradesh. Our observers are leaving and they will decide when to meet the Governor. Thanks to Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Yatra and Priyanka Gandhi because of her we live.

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel said – There has been a big victory in Himachal Pradesh. The people there have trusted the Congress. This is the first victory after Mallikarjun Kharge ji became the president and Priyanka ji also campaigned a lot. This victory is the victory of the voters and workers there.

Jairam Thakur, who was CM after the defeat in Himachal, said – The biggest feature of democracy is that public opinion should be respected. We have respected public opinion. I have submitted my resignation to the governor. We will play the role of positive opposition in the state.